Learn Gemstones

Gemstones are divided into two basic categories -
"Precious" and "Semi-precious"
The "precious" stones and their hardness are:
  • Diamond, hardness 10 (carbon)
  • Sapphire, hardness 9 (corundum)
  • Ruby, hardness 9 (red corundum)
  • Emerald, hardness 8 (green beryl)
  • Topaz, hardness 8 (silicate of aluminum)
  • Aquamarine, hardness 7.5-8 (a form of beryl)

                               and many more....

The "semiprecious" stones and their colors are:
  • Garnet - deep Burgundy-Red to raspberry red
  • Amethyst - soft translucent purple
  • Citrine - Bright yellow
  • Carnellion - warm red to orange
  • Peridot - light green

and many more......

Found what you are looking for!

Use the following drop down menu to find the gemstone you are looking for (this menu is always available on top of each page). You have option of picking the individual gemstone or  search for a shape to see all available gemstones in that category.      

More info. on each stone: 
Every (well, almost every..) gemstone's individual page has a icon  of "Stone Info."  which leads to the "Facts" page. Here you will find Chemical, Metaphysical, Medical, and a lots of other useful information on the stone.